Adelaide Model Railway Exhibition 2021


Adelaide Model Rail Roaders Inc

The inception of the club can be traced back to 1946, and in more recent years, the club has had layouts at Mt Lofty and Islington. The present club location is at Outer Harbor. Most of the members model USA prototypes, although a few members also run Australian and European outline. Membership is limited to 30, but people with an interest in joining this club are welcome to ring. The club is constructing a large HO layout containing around 70 metres of mainline track. Contact Jeff Barclay (08) 8250 8579.

Märklin Model Railway Club

The Märklin Model Railway Club was formed in June 1971 and caters for European outline model railways, running to a HO scale of 1:87. It also participates each year in the Queen's Birthday weekend Adelaide Model Railway Exhibition at Greyhound Park, Angle Park

The Club meets on the second Friday of the month from 7PM until 9.30PM and the last Sunday of each month from 11AM until 4PM. The club is located at the Penfield Sporting Association off Woomera Road, Edinburgh Parks, Salisbury.

For further information visit the club's website at or contact Dusan the president on 0404 377 693 or via email

SA ProtoFour Group (P4)

The South Australian Protofour Group Inc. is where people with an interest in fine-scale railway modelling share ideas, techniques and resources, and get together to enjoy our great hobby. We're a bit unusual in that among our members, there is interest in prototypes of both Australia and Britain, in scales respectively of 3.5 mm and 4 mm to the foot (1:87 and 1:76).

The P4 Club generally meets during the day on Wednesdays and Saturdays in our clubrooms at the St Kilda Tram Museum at St Kilda . For further information please contact Sam Hyde 0401 125 757 or Ron Solly 0413 565 577.

South Australian Railway Modellers' Association (SARMA)

The South Australian Railway Modellers Association Incorporated was formed in 1957 by a group of modellers interested in advancing all phases of Model Railways throughout the state. SARMA's clubrooms were situated in the former apprentice workshops, within the Islington Workshops complex. In 2004, the club moved to its current premises situated at "The Shed" and the "Log Cabin" on the corner of Lyons and Balmoral Roads at Dernancourt.

SARMA has some 100+ members and offers membership in Adult, Family, Pensioner, Country and Junior/Student categories. SARMA holds formal general meetings on the second Wednesday of every month and visitors are most welcome to attend these meetings

South Australian "N" Gauge Society (SANGS)

The South Australian 'N' Gauge Society Inc. (SANGS) was formed in November 1983. The objective is to promote N gauge (also known as N scale) model railways and to build a modular type of layout for club use and for exhibition purposes. The first SANGS layout was exhibited at the 1985 Adelaide Model Railway Exhibition. SANGS moved into its own clubroom at Islington in November 1994 and now resides at Semaphore.

The clubroom is open every Saturday of the month, and most Tuesday evenings. A general meeting and running session is held on the first Saturday of the month.

Informal clinics are occasionally held and N scale magazines, inter-club newsletters, etc are available for perusal or borrowing by members from the club library.

The clubroom is located at 118 Fletcher Road, Peterhead.

Classic Train Collectors

Classic Train Collectors was formed by a group of local enthusiasts for the commercially-produced model railways of the past.

Many members began their interest with the popular Hornby O gauge clockwork and electric models, or their Hornby Dublo equivalents. Now they also seek out a wider range of makers, a few of which survive in production but most of which have disappeared.

If you are interested in old model trains, (tinplate, clockwork or steam), O Gauge models generally, 1 Gauge models, Hornby Dublo, old toys, Meccano or Dinky Toys, you will find much to enjoy in membership of Classic Train Collectors.

For further information regarding membership and activities, contact Alistair Mc Allister (President) on (08) 8523 9455 oe email or Kay Leverett (Secretary) on (08) 8278 6014 or email